nashville

    I recently was able to make a trip to Nashville. I have not traveled in some time, and while it was just a crammed little weekend trip, it was still refreshing. I went up with my buddy Drew, also a photographer, and we cruised the 12-hr-should’ve-been-8-hour trip in my rockin’ minivan. We talked movies (I get real excited when I start spouting movie trivia, so watch out for that), explored some music (black keys, sleigh bells, franz ferdinand and more great road trip music) stayed with our good friends Will and Erin, and best of all got to snatch a little wisdom from David Bean.

  I first encountered David through an online beard growing competition called Whiskerino. Yes, you read that right. Really though,  the site was more about creativity and photography than it was about facial hair. ( He was one of the ‘stars’ of the site, dazzling us all w/ his pro photography when most of the rest of us were just aspiring creatives w/ dinky little cameras). Since then, David has gone on to be a big name in photography, shooting such stars as Dolly Parton, Taylor Swift, the newsboys, Jack White, and campaigns for many commercial companies. 

David decided to host a workshop in his happenin’ nashville studio, and Drew and I soaked it in. It’s always good to learn and good to be around fellow photographers. 

I snapped some pictures, of course. There are way too many. So don’t look at them all.

Or do.

but I warned you…

follow the break to see the rest of em!

I’m that much of a tourist. taking pictures in the stinking parking lot.

We stayed with our friends Will & Erin. I actually didn’t take the following shot, Drew did. I included it because this cat was stressing Will out pretty good during our stay there and Drew snapped this while playing with one of my lenses. I saw it when I was going back through the pictures and it made me laugh…

This is Drew right here, snapping away during the portion of the workshop where we worked w/ a model in David Bean’s studio. 

‘And that’s why my photos are so much more awesome than yours.’ (I really don’t remember what he was actually saying here).

Drew taking it all in!

david shoots, he scores!

I like that the model got a little goofy with me.

the 2nd section of the ‘hands on’ portion of the day involved us getting an assignment. We had 1 hour to go out in the streets of nashville & capture a fashion shot…but we also got a challenge. Our group’s challenge was that we had to have motion in the shot. Drew thought he’d make things even more difficult and asked us if we were cool adding a 2nd challenge. We all said no, but he asked for another challenge anyway. (ok, ok, that’s not true. Giving Drew a hard time…)

our 2nd challenge was we couldn’t show anyone’s face. 

One member from our group grabbed a model for us off the street (a very excited 13 year old girl) and we all took turns working with her. Here’s what I walked away with…

snapped a couple of quick nighttime shots in the way out of town. 

That’s all folks. Back in good ol’ Joplin….

Leave a Reply

