Joplin restaurants (CVB part 2)

  In the midst of my usual work w/ families & brides, I’ve had my fair share of commercial work as of late, the top gig being a re-branding project for the Joplin CVB (convention & visitors’ bureau). I’ve meant to share more work from this ongoing series & am finally getting around to it.

     The project has covered a variety of subjects that make our fair town so unique… but this post is dedicated specifically to the restaurants I’ve shot so far. Because food is always close to my heart…

ENJOY!


this first shot is a ‘behind the scenes’… the lovely ladies of the CVB helping me prep a shot at the Eagle Drive In.

CRABBY’S:: 


One of Joplin’s finest eateries… seafood specialties that will make your mouth water.

manager Damien hard at work…

   

don’t you just want to pluck it straight off of the screen?

fancy!

CALDONES::


a wonderful Italian eatery in the heart of downtown.

fine dining with small town charm…

GRANNY SHAFFERS::

outstanding pie, delicious breakfast… good ol’ fashioned americana in edible form.

MYTHOS::

one of Joplin’s favorites… greek cuisine done right. Cheese served on fire? Yes please.

Owner George was quite the willing model in his kitchen. A truly nice guy and a great cook.

EAGLE DRIVE IN::

One of my own personal favorites. Founded by culinary genius Jason Miller- who also runs ‘Instant Karma’ across the street from my studio. Justin will make a burger out of just about anything (my favorite experiment was his scallop burger). The menu includes burgers made from leg-of-lamb & elk, and the ahi tuna steak is out of this world.

The house ‘Eagle burger’ pictured below is topped with a quail egg. Yep. a quail egg.

The Eagle features a cozy little bar as well. Got some candids of a lunch among friends…

some of my shots ended up a little more (or less?) candid than I predicted, thanks to Doug, our fella on the end…

I was blessed with a nice blue sky the day of the shoot. I love a great blue sky.

more later…. this weekend is booked with more shoots w/ the CVB for an upcoming ad campaign. So excited to be involved!

Leave a Reply

