Happy Labor day (it’s a new season)




_002b

Labor day is that time of year where you take a moment to recognize the passing of summer. For me, that means a glance back through casually taken family pictures… not the posed, planned, dressed up for kind of pictures, but the ones that capture a real memory, AS it’s actually happening.

As much posing and brainstorming and planning and such as I do for the sessions that are a mainstay of my photography-as-business, I always want there to still be a hint of that ‘snapshot’ feeling in every shoot I do… that this picture was part of a real memory, and symbolizes a time of your life and in the lives of your loved ones, that you never want to forget.

I encourage you to do the same. Look back through your smart-phone images, your digital point-and-click pictures, and just remember the summer. Yes, you pay people like me to artfully represent your family…but the snapshots are important too.

[and yes, just so you know, I have plenty of blurry, horribly composed, blown out, thumb-in-front-of-the-lens pictures too, that I’ll still keep and look through fondly for the memories themselves… just because I’m not brave enough to show them here, doesn’t mean they don’t exist. It’s only the best of things I show here, you know. 🙂 ]

Hope you’ve had a great summer. My family’s has included…

playing in water.

_009b

trying a sport for the first time.

_014b

_015b

jumping on trampolines.

_004b

getting worn out from playing so hard.

_005b

spending time as superheroes, fairies, ballerinas, pirates, and cowboys

_001b

learning how to do new things.

_017

hanging out with friends and first sleepovers.

_013a

fireworks. until police officers had to roll down our alley and tell us to stop 2 days after the 4th… (somebody told me it was ok til the 7th…when I figure out who that was…)

_012b

long car rides to get to exciting places.

_010b

exploring.

_011b

_007b

discovering nature.

_006b

a lot of ice cream and other related cold, sweet products.

_016

for me, a lot of iced coffee…

_018

 

And yes, occasionally, stopping play for a quick picture…

19b

makes me sad to know that summer is almost gone. But that is quickly outweighed by the excitement of the next season. I LOVE fall and can’t wait to see what this one holds!

_008b

53









Leave a Reply

