‘Cold Brewed’ available for order

    So I haven’t posted in anything in about a month. That’s awhile for me.

I have a post planned to talk about the ‘new year’; my annual hi-lighting of the last year and look at head at the next. But before I get to that one, here’s something more immediate and exciting… couldn’t have picked a better way to break the silence than to announce:

‘Cold Brewed’ is available for order in the i-tunes store.

What IS Cold Brewed? I’ve been blabbing incessantly about it for the last year, but if your’e new to me and my work, you may still need a quick rundown…

from the noir i-book, 'cold brewed': Jett Cropper gets a 2 x 4 to the face

‘Cold Brewed’ is a story presented in words and pictures, telling the tale of a ‘grinder’ named Jett Cropper in a 1940s world where it’s coffee that’s under prohibition (rather than alcohol). Jett is searching for truth behind a series of murders and a mystery of caffeinated proportions.

The story pays homage to the classic film-noir genre where Humphrey Bogart, trench coats, and hard shadows ruled the screen, but turns the genre on its’ head with the alternate reality of a past where coffee was illegal. It’s cinematic, but the method of telling the story in a way that weaves text and stills in virtual format is new… best presented in an i-book form.

My good friend Lance Schaubert wrote the brilliant story and worked with me as co-director & producer, as I shot hundreds of black and white period photographs over the period of 6 months last year. This is my biggest project to date, and while I know it has its’ flaws, I’m pretty proud of it.

If you read all that and are interested in going ahead and pre-ordering… you can do that HERE. It’s just 4 bucks, so nothing that will break the bank… that’s less than 1/2 of of what you’d pay to watch a movie in our crappy Joplin theater. 🙂

If you want to take a look at a ‘best of’ gallery of photos only that I put up last year- to give you a better idea of the look and feel of the series- you can do that HERE.

BUY this thing and spread the word, and you’ll be supporting a coupla guys trying to tell a story in a new way… and raise the money to go and do it again. 🙂 Thanks, guys.

cover-SPIEL

One comment

  1. Pingback: 2013:: the year in…well, what else? « 9art photography - joplin, missouri


Leave a Reply

