in my dining room

The other day, I babysat 5 kids for three hours… my own 2, + 3 of their best friends. Yes, all at once, and yes, by myself . (My wife was in a training session at the time, and I’m pretty sure she was worried about me…)

We had swordfights. We had nerf gun fights. We danced. We played dress up. We watched Toy Story.

And we had a little portrait session.

Impromptu, the very best kind. I had might light on hand, got my camera out, and set them up in front of our new dining room curtains (which turned out to be a really nice backdrop). Then, I took a crocheted blanket and hung it over the front of my soft box to further diffuse it.

I’m not a technical perfectionist, whatsoever. If you’re not a technical perfectionist and you still want to take awesome photos, then you’d be better be damn good at improvising within your craft… and I need to do just more of that. Hence the blanket and the curtain backdrop…

And I LOVE how it turned out.

Began with my own flesh and blood…

the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography01 the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography02

the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography03

tried to catch my other kiddo, but the most I could get out of her before she hid behind a chair was a ‘HEY LOOK!’ shot while she yawned…

the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography15

Then, Elie, Anie, & Levi. I love seeing the difference in personalities in these.

Elie= dramatic/actress
Anie= spunky/playful
Levi= fun/giggly

the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography04 the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography05 the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography06 the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography07 the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography08 the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography10 the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography09 the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography17 the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography19 the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography16

the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography18

And then (mostly) the whole group… except for Maggie, who was still hiding behind a chair somewhere…

And no, I have no explanation for why they were each holding a horse. I love kids.

the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography11 the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography12

the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography13

I’ll end it on these last two images: Elie took a picture of Harry, and Harry took a picture of Elie. Kids love to direct other kids to make funny faces. I don’t think Harry had a chance to develop his though… a rare ‘between outrageous expressions’ moment…

the spierings' kids portraits- by joplin mo family & lifestyle photgraphy studio, 9art photography14

Leave a Reply

