Lance & Tara:: Brooklyn bound

 

studio couple portrait session in joplin mo, Lance & Tara

 

I write this post as some of my best friends in the world move to a much bigger place in the world. A world within itself. Lance & Tara fly out to Brooklyn, NY today. There, they will begin a new life working with a church plant in one of the most vibrant places you’ll find. [insert ‘pace’ commercial accent]: NEW YORK CITY!

The pictures from this post (except for the wedding image below) were taken from a session during the final week that Lance & Tara spent in Joplin, so they’d have new pics of themselves as a couple, as well as individually (Lance will need head shots to put on the book jackets after he makes it big, after all).

Those that know me well, know how much this couple mean to me & my family, and how Lance & I have been very close co-conspirators… er… collaborators… for the last couple of years. Lance is an amazing writer, and I’ve watched him go from being pretty good to being pretty fantastic. I don’t say lightly, that he has helped me grow in my personal life and my walk with God in a way that few other individuals ever have. I’m a more disciplined, more inspired, less selfish, and all around better man than before I met him.

I first met Lance when I worked at starbucks, through a mutual friend. Yes, at that time, he was just ‘colby’s weird friend Lance.’ A couple of years after that, Lance contacted me about doing wedding pictures for he and his bride-to-be… and as our friendship grew, I discovered that YES he was still weird, but certainly no weirder than I, and an exceptionally talented and big hearted individual to boot.

Lance & Tara's wedding, joplin missouri wedding photographer 9art photography

 

You might also know Lance as the writer and co-director on my epic project from last year, ‘Cold Brewed’, in which we attempted to create something that had never before been created. We succeeded in that, (if not financially, then artistically), learned a lot, and were fueled to continue creating, each in our medium.

Tara has been a tremendous friend as well to my wife and to me, and my whole family is going to miss these two. My 3 year old daughter only knows that they are moving to the city with the ‘vampire steak building’…

I wish them Godspeed. And in the coming years, I can’t wait to make the trip(s) up to visit, to collaborate with Lance again. Maybe this time it can be a series in which vampires are fought off with large cuts of meat on the tops of skyscrapers. Who knows…

Love you guys.

Lance & tara- couple session in Joplin mo w/ big sky and lots love

 

joplin mo family, lifestyle & commercial photographer, 9art photography- lance & tara, brooklyn bound_0001b joplin mo family, lifestyle & commercial photographer, 9art photography- lance & tara, brooklyn bound_0002b joplin mo family, lifestyle & commercial photographer, 9art photography- lance & tara, brooklyn bound_0003b joplin mo family, lifestyle & commercial photographer, 9art photography- lance & tara, brooklyn bound_0004b joplin mo family, lifestyle & commercial photographer, 9art photography- lance & tara, brooklyn bound_0006b joplin mo family, lifestyle & commercial photographer, 9art photography- lance & tara, brooklyn bound_0007b joplin mo family, lifestyle & commercial photographer, 9art photography- lance & tara, brooklyn bound_0008b joplin mo family, lifestyle & commercial photographer, 9art photography- lance & tara, brooklyn bound_0009b joplin mo family, lifestyle & commercial photographer, 9art photography- lance & tara, brooklyn bound_0010b joplin mo family, lifestyle & commercial photographer, 9art photography- lance & tara, brooklyn bound_0012b joplin mo family, lifestyle & commercial photographer, 9art photography- lance & tara, brooklyn bound_0013b joplin mo family, lifestyle & commercial photographer, 9art photography- lance & tara, brooklyn bound_0014b joplin mo family, lifestyle & commercial photographer, 9art photography- lance & tara, brooklyn bound_0015b

Leave a Reply

