Of Course Not…

I’ve meant to post about this for awhile… better late than never, right?

The title of this blog post is actually the name of the client I had the pleasure of working with late last year: the ‘power pop’ band, Of Course Not.

ofcoursenot- band pictures from joplin mo commercial photographer 9art photography_0001b

The group’s front man Luke approached me last  year and told me that the band wanted to work with me… primarily, because they were looking for something really different, and wanted help fleshing out some pretty ambitious visual ideas to accompany the new music they were making.

I hadn’t done anything quite like what they were asking, but I said yes, and we got to work planning. I secured the location thanks to my very good friend Jason, who had an empty old house on the market that worked just perfect for our shoot. And I called in my friend Jordan to model since I knew she had the perfect retro look that I wanted.

We started with some simple band photos… some casual, some formal…

ofcoursenot- band pictures from joplin mo commercial photographer 9art photography_0002b ofcoursenot- band pictures from joplin mo commercial photographer 9art photography_0004b

The house came with an ancient player piano, a very fun prop indeed…

ofcoursenot- band pictures from joplin mo commercial photographer 9art photography_0003b

For the new music the band was releasing around halloween, they wanted something a bit otherworldly… yes, even creepy, to accompany a new single that told a ghost story.  So I broke my ‘I don’t do photoshop’ M.O.’ and played around a bit. The outtakes are fun, where you can see how goofy Luke is- and the items being moved around (I photoshopped Jordan out later).

ofcoursenot- band pictures from joplin mo commercial photographer 9art photography_0005 ofcoursenot- band pictures from joplin mo commercial photographer 9art photography_0006

finished shot:

ofcoursenot- band pictures from joplin mo commercial photographer 9art photography_0011b

Then came my favorite challenge; in which I needed to portray a girl levitating over a bed in a ghostly sort of way. This was one of those shoots where I still wasn’t 100% certain how I was going to do it beforehand; but I knew we could. Can you guess how we did it, before scrolling down? 🙂

Luke, helping me figure out how Jordan could achieve our levitation look:

ofcoursenot- band pictures from joplin mo commercial photographer 9art photography_0007

20 takes of Jordan jumping- backwards, off the chair- while Luke held the chair in place. For those who guessed I photoshopped and for those who thought I got away without photoshopping… you’re both half right. The actual position of Jordan in the picture is NOT faked; she really was in a horizontal position above the bed, that high, frozen in that split second in which her backwards jump planted her in that spot.

ofcoursenot- band pictures from joplin mo commercial photographer 9art photography_0008

But I did cheat by photoshopping Jordan into a pre-staged shot that I took before bringing in the model and chair.

You have to cheat sometimes….

ofcoursenot- band pictures from joplin mo commercial photographer 9art photography_0009b

It was fun. Looking forward to working with more musicians in the future… they can be kinda crazy, and so am I. 🙂

ofcoursenot- band pictures from joplin mo commercial photographer 9art photography_0010b
-Mark

Leave a Reply

